Welcome to our SROP student!

Hannah joins us as our Summer Research Opportunity Program (SROP) Neurobiology Undergraduate for the summer!

Welcome Hannah!

Undergrads are selected to attend Summer Undergraduate Programs throughout the U.S.

Two undergrads have successfully competed for positions in fully funded summer opportunities for undergraduates.  Congratulations!!

Jieun Heo                       - UT Southwestern SURF Program in Stem cell research


Elizabeth Thompson      - Frontiers in Aging and Regeneration Research Advanced Training Course

                                       - NYU School of Medicine Sackler Institute SURF Program



Two new undergraduates join the lab

Welcome to Eden Zewdie and Cailin Considine, both juniors here at UW-Madison who have joined the lab.  The fall 2017 school year begins!

Darcie's review with Sebastian Jessberger is published in Trends in Cell Biology

Darcie and Sebastian get to write together again!


Accumulating evidence suggests that mammalian cells asymmetrically segregate cellular components ranging from genomic DNA to organelles and damaged proteins during cell division. Asymmetric inheritance upon mammalian cell division may be specifically important to ensure cellular fitness and propagate cellular potency to individual progeny, for example in the context of somatic stem cell division. We review here recent advances in the field and discuss potential effects and underlying mechanisms that mediate asymmetric segregation of cellular components during mammalian cell division.

D.L. Moore*, S. Jessberger* (2017). Creating Age Asymmetry: Consequences of Inheriting Damaged Goods in Mammalian Neural Stem Cells. Trends in Cell Biology, 27(1): 82-92. PMID: 27717533


Darcie is a Recipient of a 2017 Sloan Research Fellowship

Darcie was awarded a 2017 Sloan Research Fellowship in Neuroscience from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.  126 early-career researchers in the areas of chemistry, computational or evolutionary molecular biology, computer science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, ocean sciences, and physics were chosen for this prestigious award.